Remembering the Child

Me- “I remember you telling me something about trips to the grocery store while I was just a baby. Do you mind telling me again?”

Madre- “What? You mean every time that I went into Food Lion and could not get down more than two aisles before someone stopped me to comment on that beautiful child, with the copper penny hair, and ocean blue eyes?”

Me- “Yes. That story.”

Madre- “Well, all I have to say is that you and your sister are both beautiful girls, and were beautiful babies too.”

Me- “Aw thanks Mommy… So have I always been as stubborn and independent as I am now that I’ve gotten older?”

Madre- “No.”

Me- “Well, what happened to me?”

Madre- “Your second grade teacher accused me of being to strict with you, because you were always so quiet and timid in class. However, each year, your abilities (voice turns high and squeaky) to speak your mind and question authority, (stern voice) have increased, (sweet, loving, and caring voice) making you and enabling you to become a strong, and independent young lady.”

Me- “Thank you for your time, dearest Mother.”

Madre- “Is that all?!”

Me- “Yes. Goodnight.”

Leave a comment